TNB go on rampage; UniKL shows Maybank exit

Tenaga Nasional Berhad  proved too strong for Division One outfit Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) as they romped to an 11-0 victory in the TNBMHL 2016 Knockout Tournament for the Tan Sri P. Alagendra Cup at the Kuala Lumpur Hockey Stadium on Tuesday.

Following two Premier League defeats within a week – losing 3-4 to Maybank and 0-1 on Sunday against Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL) – the big margin win over UiTM in the first round was certainly a welcome sign for TNB as far as head coach Muhammad Amin Rahim is concerned.

The win propelled TNB to the August 30 quarterfinals. However, the draw for the quarterfinals will be conducted on Wednesday (24th August).

While TNB triumphed over UiTM, their development side – Thunderbolt – went down 2-3 against Politeknik Malaysia at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium in Johor Baru. It was a reverse of result as Thunderbolt defeated Politeknik 5-1 in a Division One group match earlier.

Joining TNB and Politeknik Malaysia in the quarterfinals are Sapura Hockey Club, Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL), ATM Airod and Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI). Double champions Terengganu Hockey Team (THT) and Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club received byes in today’s first round.

In the only encounter between two TNBMHL Premier League heavyweights in the knockout tournament, UniKL came away winner, thanks to a Nazmi Farizal Jazlan penalty corner goal in the 11th minute.

“The good thing in this match is the forwards scored 10 field goals and one from penalty corner. It helps a lot in raising the confidence level after two Premier League defeats,” said Amin. “Though UiTM could not make the breaks there were instances their forwards tried their best.”

“We have to put in more efforts in penalty corners. There were far too many chance but we scored in one. The quarterfinals will be tough as we are bound to face stronger opponents and we have to raise our own game especially in field goals and penalty corners,” he added.

Arif Sabron nailed a hat-trick, Amir Farid Ahmad Fuzi and Nik Mohamad Aiman scored a brace while Muhamad Ramadan Rosli, Muhamad Fariq Saadon, Muhammad Hafizhuddin and Syed Mohaamed Syafiq scored one.

Sapura ended Penang-based Nur Insafi’s outing in the knockout tournament with a 4-0 victory and ATM Airod turned the tables on Majlis Bandaraya Ipoh (MBI) 4-3 in penalty shootout after a 3-3 draw in regulation time.

For MBI, the defeat against Nur Insafi comes as a big blow to their morale after posting a convincing 4-1 win in the Division One League match recently.

SSTMI pulverised Bukit Jalil Sports School 7-0 at the adjacent Ministry of Education ground in Jalan Pantai. It was SSTMI’s second big win over their rivals in the TNBMHL 2016 after posting a 6-0 victory in a Division One league match at the same venue.

Results – Politeknik Malaysia 3 TNB Thunderbolt 2; Sapura Hockey Club 4 Nur Insafi 0; Tenaga Nasional Berhad 11 UiTM 0; Majlis Bandaraya Ipoh 3 ATM Airod 3 (ATM win 4-3 in penalty shootout); BJSS 0 SSTMI 7; Universiti Kuala Lumpur 1 Maybank 0.

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment